Seamhead Awards: NL Rookie of the Year

Pete Alonso

Did anyone have a better 2019 than Pete Alonso? First off, we started seeing him referred to as "Pete" rather than "Peter" in Spring Training - which is a great move - and then he broke camp with the big club. That's something we're not accustomed to seeing anymore, with teams sensitive to player control. Not sure if the big boy name had something to do with that or not.

What did "The Polar Bear" do once he made the New York Mets' 25 Man Roster? Oh, he just made some history, that's all.

Alonso was the NL Rookie of the Month in April, June and September. He was the June 23rd NL Player of the Week. He finished with an Offensive WAR of 5.8 - good for 5th in the Senior Circuit. That's not ROY production levels - those are superstar levels.

What did Alonso do to receive those accolades? He hit bombs. Lots of 'em. In fact, he set the Major League record for home runs by a rookie with 53, besting Aaron Judge's 2017 mark of 52, (who passed Mark McGwire's 49 round trippers in 1987). Making big league history in a primary category is literally the only absolute guarantee to winning a "major award", and Pete Alonso is the National League Rookie of the Year.

Come on folks, it's not even close. There has never been a more unanimous ROY...ever. With zero disrespect intended for the fine season (and career ahead) for Mike Soroka, I'm looking at you Andrew Baggarly.

He had perhaps one of the finest offensive seasons in New York Mets history, and although this is a franchise that has never held an NL MVP, it does boast names such as Carlos Beltran, Mike Piazza, David Wright, and Darryl Strawberry.

But wait! There's more!

Being a good guy doesn't count for trophies, but I find it really hard not to enjoy Pete Alonso. His affable personality, genuine nature, strong family bonds and his ability to rise to the occasion absolutely make him a guy to root for.

Oh yeah, he also won the 2019 MLB Home Run Derby. Cool year, Polar Bear.

Others considered: Mike Soroka, Atlanta Braves; Fernando Tatis Jr., San Diego Padres

BBWAA VOTE: Pete Alonso (29/30 first place votes)